Homeschooling is an educational option you can make for your child.

Do you think homeschooling may be the right educational choice for your child?

Is Homeschooling Right for Me?

Considering homeschooling? Check out this sheet about what to think about when looking into homeschooling.

Registration Requirements

It's Great to Home Educate! If a child will attend a home school, the parent or person with custody of the child must file a notarized affidavit of intent form with the County Superintendent of Schools registering that intent within 30 days from the time the child begins to attend a homeschool. Download the affidavit of intent to homeschool. For filing purposes fill out a separate affidavit for each child. Notary services are available in the homeschooling office.

An official certified copy (original) of the child’s birth certificate or other reliable proof of the child’s identity and age (review Homeschool Guidelines for other reliable proof of child’s identity) shall also be filed in the county school superintendent’s office. (ARS §15-828.3.B). Photocopies of the original birth certificate are not acceptable. The County Superintendent must also be notified within 30 days of the termination of homeschooling. Download the withdrawal form. If homeschooling is resumed, another affidavit of intent must be filed with the County Superintendent.

The County Superintendent must also be notified of any changes of information. Download the change of information form.


Homeschool Guidelines

Homeschool Resource Directory - Local support groups, field trips ideas, magazines, online educational links, and more. Updated 9.23.14

Arizona Families for Home Education (AFHE) - a statewide organization that serves the needs and protects the rights of Arizona homeschool families. AFHE is a non-profit educational corporation directed by a Christian board. AFHE membership is open to all homeschool patents in Arizona. 602-235-2673
Homeschool Legal Defense Association (HSLDA) - National homeschool legal defense group that protects homeschool rights and freedoms.


The testing of children who are instructed in a homeschool program while they are receiving homeschool instruction is not required. (ARS §15-745.A)

A child who is enrolled in a kindergarten program or grades one through 12 in a public school after receiving instruction in a homeschool program shall be tested in order to determine the appropriate grade level for the educational placement of the child. (ARS 15-745.B).

Find more testing information:

Homeschool Newsletter

Homeschool Newsletter

Email Updates
To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your contact information below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about homeschooling and how to properly register for homeschooling according to state statutes, visit our FAQ page.

Web Resources related to Homeschooling

Find links to government agencies, libraries, standardized testing information, resources for gifted students, and subject-area and teaching help on our Web Resources page.

Contact the Homeschool and Private School Liaison, Ana Vuletic
Last Modified on September 3, 2015